Graduate Profile : Holly Schorta

Where are you currently working?  I am currently working in Tasmania for the The Maria Island Walk and the Bay of Fires Lodge Walk.

What do you love most about your job?  There are so many things to love about the job; but if I had to think of a couple, it would be the buzz of being able to share my knowledge and love for Tasmania with people from across Australia and the world.  Also having the opportunity to facilitate and encourage people to get out of their comfort zone, is a great privilege.

What training did you undertake with TasTAFE?  I completed my Certificate III and IV in Guiding in 2016.

What did you value about your training at TasTAFE?  The teachers and students alone made the whole course worthwhile.  It’s so lovely to have teachers who show such passion and love for what they are teaching, who are willing to share their first-hand experiences of the job.  I also can’t forget to mention the amazing peers that I was surrounded by for the year – friends that I will treasure for a long time.

How has your training helped you with your Guiding career?  I felt well prepared going into the industry, knowing what to expect (the people, the cooking, the cleaning, the interpretation).

On my first ever guided trip, although I was extremely nervous about the new experience, I was able to look back on all of the teachings that TasTAFE provided.  It also helped my confidence in being able to talk to people who I had never met before.

What is your most memorable moment you have experienced on a trip?  There are far too many memorable moments to name just one but the biggest highlight for me is seeing people’s faces when they reach the summit of mountains, which makes the climb worth it!  I also love seeing people faces when they go for a swim as they don’t expect the water to be so ‘fresh’.

If you could invite anyone on a trip, who would it be?  My mum, because she’s a superstar and so she can also see first-hand what I do for a job.

If you could give one piece of advice for someone contemplating a career in the outdoors, what would it be?  I believe that guiding is all about how you enrich someone’s experience in a particular environment.

“I’ve learnt that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel”  Maya Angelou

This quote reminds me that I have the ability to shape and enrich how people feel about the location that I am sharing with them.  Giving information about the flora/fauna, geology, human history and so on can enhance a persons connection through knowledge.  But how you make them feel and care about a place is the ultimate goal.  People can see without words, how you as a Guide feel about a location.  This is why a career in guiding is such a rewarding job, because of the lasting impression you have on the people you take on tour.

RTO Code: 60142

Leave a Reply

