Student Profile : Alec Wilson

Alec Wilson

Where are you currently working?  I’m currently working for Cradle Mountain Canyons, I also do some bits and pieces for Ian Ferrier (Mountain Bike and Rock Climbing Tasmania) some climbing and abseiling for Rodney Dransfield and also a bit of work for schools.

What do you love most about your job?  I love being in the outdoors and sharing my passion for what I do with students and clients.

What training did you undertake with TasTAFE?  I undertook Certificate IV in Outdoor Recreation.

When did you complete your training?  2014

What did you value about your training at TasTAFE?  The Certificate IV helped me to meet people who offered me jobs in the industry.  The training I undertook was a great way to gain a bunch of varied experience and qualifications relevant to working as an outdoor leader in the industry.

How has your training helped you with your Outdoor Recreation/Guiding career?  My training with TasTAFE has been imperative to providing quality outdoor experiences.  The knowledge and skills base provided is highly relevant to the industry.

What is your most memorable moment you have experienced on a trip?  A 16-year-old girl said to me and another guide after a trip we did in the canyon with a school group: “That was the best thing I’ve ever done”.  The other guide replied: “Oh come on, you must have done some pretty cool things in your life? have a think about it“.  She sat there and pondered it for a while and then looked up and exclaimed “Nope this is the best”.  That cracked me up.

If you could invite anyone on a trip, who would it be?  I can invite anyone I like on a trip.  They just might not come…

RTO Code: 60142

Leave a Reply

