Student Profile : Nick Delany

Nick Delaney

Where are you currently working?  I am currently employed by The Freycinet Experience Walk and have recently completed my fifth season with them.

What do you love most about your job?  My job brings me an enormous amount of satisfaction and happiness from many different aspects, it is impossible to choose just one;  The relationships I have with my colleagues, the feeling of being deeply connected with a place, incredible wildlife displays and making a positive impact on individuals and the world around me, all rate highly.

What training did you undertake with TasTAFE?  Certificate III & IV in Guiding, Certificate IV in Outdoor Recreation.

When did you complete your training?   I obtained my Certificate III & IV in Guiding in 2011 which prepared me well for the industry and any challenges that have presented themselves throughout the course of my career.  I am currently completing my Certificate IV in Outdoor Recreation in order to up-skill and broaden employment and other opportunities.

What did you value about your training at TasTAFE?  The TasTAFE training programs are suitably designed to fully prepare students for work in the industries that they desire to pursue and are delivered by highly skilled and experienced instructors.

How has your training helped you with your Outdoor Recreation/Guiding career?  My training with TasTAFE has been imperative to providing quality outdoor experiences.  The knowledge and skills base provided is highly relevant to the industry.

What is your most memorable moment you have experienced on a trip?  Getting up close and personal with Humpback Whales on one of our Schouten Passage crossings.  This was on my first every guiding trip and set the bar high!

If you could invite anyone on a trip, who would it be?  Anyone who would benefit from my knowledge, views and positive attitude towards the natural world in order to pursue positive change on a global level, regarding to major environmental issues.

If you could give one piece of advice for someone contemplating a career in the outdoors, what would it be?  If you value incredible life experiences in the outdoors and sharing a love for the natural world with kindred spirits, then this industry is highly suitable.

RTO Code: 60142

Leave a Reply

